How do you feel about flirting

daydreamer

Permanent Fixture
Jul 10, 2009
MBTI
ENFP
Enneagram
I forget
How are you with flirting? It makes me feel kind of awkward. I don't know if I'm very good at it either. Any advice? :m176:

I have a dirty sense of humor, it comes in handy when flirting.

People tend to mistake my naughtiness for actual interest.

I am what you would call a tease.

:m122:

How are you with flirting? It makes me feel kind of awkward. I don't know if I'm very good at it either. Any advice? :m176:

I was recently pondering this too. I decided I feel like I'm not good at flirting because I don't do it as early on as a lot of other people. I mean, I usually wait until I know the person. I think waiting helps me guess the kind of flirting that will be most effective with a particular person. Pick up lines are usually what I think of first when I think about flirting, but they don't really have much purpose except to be funny (or gross as the case may be). I want the purpose of my flirting to be to make her laugh and possibly initiate something more intimate. I mean, maybe if I learned some pick up lines, I'd attract more people at social gatherings than with my standard straight talk... But then again, that kind of flirting seems like a flourish that is distracting from authentic personality traits.

Don't ask me. I don't even know when I'm flirting, but I get accused of it a lot.

But not knowing I'm doing it is a good thing, because as soon as I'm conscious of the fact that someone's flirting with me or that I'm flirting with them, I start fumbling up. Not because I think that flirting = leading someone on, I just get self-conscious because I don't know what constitutes as flirting and am unable to work out a strategy or a natural-sounding flow.