What was your Longest Bout of Happiness? | INFJ Forum

What was your Longest Bout of Happiness?

NeverAmI

Satisclassifaction
Retired Staff
Sep 22, 2009
MBTI
INFP
Enneagram
5w4
This is inspired by April's question of earning happiness.

So, I attempted to define happiness, which I found I am not very good at, maybe I don't know what real happiness is?

Either way, it doesn't matter, I am interested in your experience of happiness. Feel free to answer as few or as many questions as you like, the more the better!

Describe your longest bout of happiness.

What were the circumstances?

Do you think you will ever be able to attain that emotional state again?

Do you think with learning a higher capacity for happiness, you also defined a higher capacity for sadness? Or do you think your experiences didn't change your perspective in any way?

Do you constantly compare new experiences to that old one? And if you do, do you think that sabotages any future chances of being happy, by not just letting it be?

Reactions: testing and Morgain
From when I was born until I lost my teddy bear and moved into the new house when I was four.

I'll elaborate more in a little while.

I'll go with my adult years here. Childhood can mostly all be called happy (at least for me it can). I would say the longest bout was probably in college when I was engaged. It was to my first real love and I was giddy in love. College is also a time of few responsibilities and a lot of freedom. I didn't realize it at the time of course. It lasted about two years, and like everything the big highs are followed by large lows. I went into a funk for at least as long. But a magical time for certain.

It seems that for me happiness is tied with being free from constraints, so I often feel fearful that with time and age I'll be less and less happy.