"Fear of science will kill us" | INFJ Forum

"Fear of science will kill us"

Rakawi

Community Member
Apr 6, 2010
MBTI
INFJ
Last edited:
I watched this the other day, I made it about 2/3rds of the way through then turned it off. I agree mostly (not all, but most) with what he is saying, but god damn I can not stand his personality one bit.

Vaccines are good things, I know this, believe me. However, I do not trust all of them. The chemicals involved in the production of some vaccines outweigh the benifits of them for most people (healthy people), a good example would be flu shots. I have extensive background in chemistry and metabolism, I agree with many things but not all, and some stuff I can't trust, it just really rubs me the wrong way.

I am more versed in supplements and food related stuff, not so much with vaccines. Nevertheless, I used to be pretty gung-ho about health food and never eating that was said to be bad for you, such as high fructose corn syrup. After learning about how fructose is metabolised in the body, and what it does on a detailed level, I came to realise that it isn't as bad as it is made out to be. Yes if you have abnormally high ammounts of it you will have a lot or problems, but moderation is indeed fine. Same goes with sugar subsititues like sucralose and aspartame. While I distrust those a lot more then I do with high fructose corn syrup, in very small amounts it is fine.

He also fails to point out that studies about controversial topics like this can, and go get skwed by interest groups (this has happned with the artifical sugar industry back in the 80's).

We need to get Morgain in here, she will know much more about the vaccine side of this stuff, and I would love to hear what her take on it is.

Last edited:
After listening to him I realize my hesitance with these hot button topics is less so about the proposition but rather are connected to possible bad PR that would dash the hopes of some of the ideas without a fair shot.