Do you evaluate 'romantic potential' when meeting another person? | INFJ Forum

Do you evaluate 'romantic potential' when meeting another person?

Kero

Dec 11, 2009
MBTI
INFJ
Hey all,
This is my first post here and I have a problem that I hope others here can give me a little helping hand on. This is mostly because I'm a total newbie in the area of romance, despite reading up so much on the topic. ^^'

Anyhow... with further ado.

It appears that when I'm interacting with girls that I'm actively interested in getting to know, I'm unconsciously putting them in the mental category of "friends with the possability of more" depending on how well my future interactions with them will be.

It's especially disturbing when I think that at one point I had considered a potential relationship with one of my closest university friend. When I think about the idea of being with them now, especially as they have a boyfriend, I can't imagine it at all and the idea seems extremely weird. However I've got to acknowledge the fact that if my friend hadn't gotten a boyfriend, and we had gotten to know each better, the possability that we might have been together (in an alternative universe)...

For me this is just really weird. I'm not entirely sure what to make out of this. Do other people experience this sort of emotions?

Part of me feels like if I've fallen for someone, it's only because they were the first one to come along and that I could have ended up with someone completely different depending on the circumstances. In that sense, it feels like I'm just desperate to be in a relationship, if I'm evaluating several people (I don't do this with all girls but it's enough to make me question my authenticity of feelings for a particular person).

Anybody willing to share some insight on how they interact with the gender(s) that is of love interests?