What is it like to have your job/career? | INFJ Forum

What is it like to have your job/career?

Gaze

Donor
Sep 5, 2009
MBTI
INFPishy
What is it like to have your job/career?

For someone who is considering the job or profession you are currently in, especially those with years of experience in your fields, how would you describe it to someone who is interested or heading in that direction? How should they prepare for it? What kind of personality, skills, abilities, attitudes, work habits, social dynamic, leadership, etc. requirements are unique or specific to your job or profession? What unique struggles or challenges do you face?

How would you advise someone who is preparing to enter your job, career, industry or field?

Last edited:
At the moment, somewhat confusing but fun. I'm an engineer in the entertainment video game industry. My work is largely scalable server systems. I work with a lot of artists and engineers and designers. Sometimes the end of the day comes down to playing with what we have made and seeing how fun it is. Not a bad way to end a day.

We can go for months working on a difficult problem, and if we succeed we become the few and highly sought after. If we fail, we are immediately discarded. The business people who run this industry are a mix of the most dedicated artists and most callous misanthropes you can ever meet. THe result is continuous business turmoil.

The challenge in this industry is bringing dreamers into a reality scope. All of us here are dreamers, and we all have different holds on reality. Some of these holds are at best, Hollywoodesque. Others are the ramblings of continuous pipe-dreamers. Others are the overreaching dream of young engineers. Execution is a bitch in a world full of clouds.