Want a girlfriend, can't be bothered to find one | INFJ Forum

Want a girlfriend, can't be bothered to find one

PastaKing

Feb 16, 2010
MBTI
INFJ
Hi,

I'm new here, but I have been reading around for some time.

I think I have a problem. I want a girlfriend, but I really can't be bothered to go out and find one. This is a ridiculous paradox.

Some background information.
  • I have a good set of friends collected around me. The close/deep INFJ friendship thing.
  • I have balanced my me-time and social time quite well.
  • I meditate once or twice a day.
  • I am a Masters student.
  • Parent's are well of.
  • I am in good shape, I run twice or three times a week.
  • I recently finished a four month internship. Here I realised I am not as shy as I used to be. I can be quite the socialite, it justs eats up a lot of energy.
  • I did have a girlfriend for four years, we broke up about two years ago. (so no, I am no internet geek shut in :))
  • All and all, I'm quite fulfilled.

But I really miss the deeper connection you can have in a relationship. Oh, also the sex thing. Seems to be inseperable in my male mind.

But here is the kicker. When we are going out, I spot a nice girl, think of a way to start a conversation (no, I do not think of a pick up line), but then I continue the conversation with my friends.
I simply do not make a move, ever.

This does not piss me off anymore, buddhist remember ;), but at the moment I am slightly confused with myself. What the What!? Why don't I make a move? In have actually devoured many books on the pick up subject. But these mainly stem from my interest in social dynamics and a sort of zoological study of the human species (naked ape). So Billy's ten tips were wasted on me. I know how to do it just fine.

A friend of mine asked me the other day, how are you doing with the ladies. I answered "I'm not"
He asked me why, I did not have an answer.