Freedom to Discriminate

Satya

C'est la vie
Retired Staff
May 11, 2008
MBTI
INXP
Here is a classic debate for you.

Some people argue that if you own a business, you should be free to decide who you do and do not do business with. Maybe I own a housing complex and I don't like black people, so I won't rent to them. Or maybe I own a private school, but I won't hire a teacher who is homosexual because I feel that kids should not be exposed to that kind of person. Or maybe I own a restaurant and I want to refuse to serve obese people because I don't want to contribute to their bad health.

Of course, it isn't that simple. If I was a business owner and I discriminated against my customers in that way, they would sue me. So as a business owner, I need to protect my freedom and get a law passed saying that I have the freedom to discriminate against them.

Or how about the other way?

Maybe I'm a black person who feels that I have the freedom to rent wherever I want. Maybe I'm a gay teacher who feels that I have the freedom to teach wherever I am qualified to teach. Maybe I'm an obese person who feels I have the freedom to destroy my own health since it is my body.

Of course, it isn't that simple. There are people out there who want to discriminate against me and will actively do so. So as any of these individuals, I need to protect my freedom and get a law passed saying that I have the freedom not to be discriminated against based on my skin color, sexuality, or weight.

Whose freedom is the correct freedom? It seems each side's liberty contradicts the other side's liberty. Is one liberty superior to another?

Last edited:
Freedom should be there to discriminate. If they OWN the housing block, they decide who they want in it. If they made up the religion (or are in charge of it, via traditional rules) they should decide who is allowed to preach it. If they set up the Organisation (or are in charge of it), they decide who is allowed in it.