rawr

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Jan 17, 2010
Earth
MBTI
IxTP
Enneagram
human
these two processes blow my mind. And i'm having a hard time defining them for myself as the seem so complex and broad.

so, anyone wanna go for a comparison and contrast? :m200:

I'd be interested in hearing a good breakdown too.

I'm gonna take a stab at this. I'm just learning but this is what I understand... I think.

Ni is basically living in future possibilities to do with you. Your intuition is therefore focused inward and you think about what you could be, and how you could make the world better.

Ne is turning your imagination outward, dreaming about possibilities of what could happen. Basically being the realm of theorists.

Sorry for the very basic generalisation, but I'm not as sure as to make any other assumptions.

88chaz88's description is pretty good.

I feel like extending it to all the perceiving traits though:

Si focuses on the past
Se focuses on the present
Ni focuses on the future
Ne focuses on the eternal or the timeless

Ni tends to be a lot more confident and hopeful than Ne. Those who use it follow their gut and tend to optimistically look forward to the possibilities they envision. Those using Ne tend to be more doubtful and regretful, as they can see how much better things could have been were it not for certain failings. Ne is generally more aware of its own fallibility. In general/theoretically Ni is always used with Se and Ne with Si, so it can at times be hard to seperate which qualities fit with which sides of each pair.

I understand Ni and Ne to both be intuitive processes that are future focused and about seeing patterns.

I tend to see the main difference as directional focus in the pattern perception. Ni seems to start expansively, taming the complexity by mapping it's form. Ne on the other hand seems to leap from jumping off points and watch the pattern explode from there.