Why You Should Never Major in Business Administration | INFJ Forum

Why You Should Never Major in Business Administration

serenesam

Banned
Jul 17, 2011
MBTI
INTJ
When I was in my final year in college, I graduated with a major in psychology and a minor in business management. As I look back, I sort of wished I never minored in business management. Virtually everything I learned in the school of business tends to differ and even contradicted from what I was learning in psychology. In the school of business, I learned that globalization is such a wonderful thing from my marketing professor. I learned that the gap between the rich and the poor is not widening from my business ethics professor. I learned that the ultimate goal in the organization is profit maximization. I learned that Warren Buffet was such an intelligent man who was rejected to Harvard University because he was too young. There was a lot of glory given to the study of Warren Buffet. Who would have known that a year later, I was watching the Keiser Report and Max Keiser was talking about the unethical practices of Warren Buffet. Perhaps the

Reactions: Faye
An interesting read! I can relate somewhat to what you are saying. I earned my B.S. in Human Services, so the "Business Admin" part of this major centers on nonprofit organizations, business management and grant writing. I thoroughly enjoyed the students within my major, they were deep and enriching. We had to complete many projects that included introspection of our lives (training ground for analyzing crisis and solution.)

I abhorred the business aspect of the major. Perhaps that is because it requires "Thinking" vs. "Feeling." It did not come naturally to me. Between the two worlds was a high sense of how politics correlates to your major. Did you also find this to be true?

LOL