Whatever happened to Christian fiction? | INFJ Forum

Whatever happened to Christian fiction?

GracieRuth

Permanent Fixture
Aug 19, 2011
MBTI
INFJ
Enneagram
I am a collector of stories. They are my secret treasures, the flowers in my heart's garden. I enjoy fiction coming from a wide variety of cultural and religious points of view. My bookshelves contain anthologies from the Islamic world, Zen stories, Chinese folk tales, Native American myths, etc. I even am in love with Ursula le Guin, which is saying something because she's a secular humanist and secularism is the hardest POV for me to relate to.

Let me also say that I'm a long time lover of Christian fiction. JRR Tolkien's LORD OF THE RINGS is carefully enshrined, just below my Jewish books. I call it "my OTHER bible." :D The LOTR is clear evidence that christians are certainly capable of writing the best possible literature.

Now let's contrast this with the movie I just watched: TIME CHANGER. As a teacher, I give it a D-. The only reason it doesn't get an F is because it does raise the intriguing question: can the moral values of a religion be taught apart from the religion? A story can be incredible (sci fi, fantasy, etc) but it must be believable or it's trash. In the TIME CHANGER, thee characters are canned. The scenes feel contrived -- they are written to an obvious agenda. This movie is so devoid of depth that I would be embarrassed if I were a Christian.

And I have to say that all the recent stuff I've seen written by christians is just as hokey -- consider THIS PRESENT DARKNESS and its series of "tell all the scary last days stories you ever heard from a pulpit." In one word, christian fiction in the 21st century is TRIPE. Come on! Story telling is an art. You can't just throw together a plot that addresses the trendiest issues of the evangelical world and think it's automatically going to WORK as a story.