Top Schools & Ivy League - What's the diff? | INFJ Forum

Top Schools & Ivy League - What's the diff?

Gaze

Donor
Sep 5, 2009
MBTI
INFPishy
I went to a fairly apt university. But i've always wondered about the top schools or the ivy league? What's the diff? How is the experience different? How is the level of satisfaction different coming from these educational environments? How is the classroom experience different? How is college life different?

Anyone?

you get to say I graduated from such and such school, And people will think your smart. Regardless of your grades and the aptitude of your professors.

I went to a private university, then transferred to a community college to finish out my degree. Im in NY so I have friends that went to NYU, Columbia and such. From what I understand Ivy League schools are beneficial reputation wise if you are going for the hard and long degrees. These include the sciences, law and medical.

In my opinion, Ivy leagye school education quality is no better than community colleges.

I went to a sort of "wannabe" Ivy League college. The difference is networking. Ivy League schools attract more well known people/companies. It's bologna.

Also the teachers tend to be more educated/absurdly overly nerdily educated.

Last edited:
The difference is resources and opportunities. An Ivy League, or very well funded public (like UC Berkeley) or private (like MIT) school has access to equipment and people that a community college or a normal state school does not have. Examples of this are better telescopes, fMRI machines, more funding for travel arrangements to archaeological sites, robotics labs, taking classes from professors that have made more significant contributions, and access to conventions that attract more renowned people.