Flavus Aquila

Finding My Place in the Sun
Banned
Mar 14, 2009
Australia
MBTI
INTJ - A
Enneagram
I'm thinking of caving in and buying a gaming console. The last console I had was an Atari, when I was about seven years old. I have questions:

* I presume the choice is between Xbox and PlayStation? Which is better... or do you have to get both?

* I'll probably want to get some pretty gory games. The last game of this sort I've played was Doom II, back when I was finishing school. I'm worried about there being a slippery slope effect with these games. Is it a problem, for people to get obsessed with the violence?

* I have an internet connection with 79Mb/sec nominal speed, but realistically only about 2/3 that speed. Will this be sufficient? (I don't even know if I'll want to play online).

* Are there any things a complete noob and ignoramus to gaming might need to be aware of?

* More personally, for those who know me sufficiently to form an opinion: Do you think it's better if I keep off gaming consoles?

(Don't expect answers to all the questions, but some opinions to help me. I seldom spend anything on myself which is purely for entertainment... and I'm uncharacteristically hesitant/unsure/anxious about this. I'm also a little embarrassed about being anxious about it.)

Last edited:
If you are mainly interested in Doom, it is better optimized on the PS4.

I'd recommend the PS4 Pro as it is the newest thing. A bit better than a plain ole PS4.

Reactions: Scientia
If you are mainly interested in Doom, it is better optimized on the PS4.

I'd recommend the PS4 Pro as it is the newest thing. A bit better than a plain ole PS4.
I don't know if I'd want to get Doom again, unless there's some creative difference with the old game.

I was erring on the side of PS, because Microsoft products have been getting on my nerves lately.