Not Smart Enough for a Job | INFJ Forum

Not Smart Enough for a Job

Scorpio

Sep 17, 2012
MBTI
INFJ
Enneagram
1w9
At this point, I may just have to resign myself to working at dead-end, minimum-wage jobs, such as McDonalds.

I don't think I have what it takes to ever be successful or have a career in the fields I'm interested in (marketing and sales).

I'm a brand new college grad with an unimpressive job history - mainly merely working as an admin assistant, as those were the only jobs I was qualified for.

But even that was a long time ago. These past two years, I've worked as a personal assistant for a disabled lady UTT -= again, doing nothing impressive. Just menial tasks. This paid well, and was very compatible with my college schedule.

Also, I was on the Board of Directors for my school's bookstore -- but again, I didn't singlehandedly do much.

However, now that I've graduated, I want to pursue a real career. I've familiarized myself with several of the skills in high demand these days, such as SEO, Salesforce, and a bit of programming. While I have no formal experience with these sorts of things, I did the best thing I could do, and took it upon myself to teach myself.

I just had a disastrous interview yesterday, where the interviewer accused me of lying on my resume for listing these skills when I'm not a highly-experienced pro at all of them. He was probably right. My line of thought was that I was learned enough in them to help out with things that might peripherally involve them, to varying degrees.

I also couldn't explain a situation "proving" that I was organized specifically enough for his satisfaction. I always did my job, had no problems, and went above and beyond when I could, which I've since forgotten about.