KazeCraven

Graduated from Typology : May 2011
Donor
Aug 9, 2009
MBTI
IEI
Enneagram
6w5 sp/sx
Okay, I'm wondering what you guys think about this subject.

The most common is the multiple intelligences by Howard Gardner. They would be
-Interpersonal
-Intrapersonal
-Body/Kinesthetic
-Visual/Spatial
-Linguistic
-Musical
-Logical
-Naturalistic

To me, the subdivision seems to be into basic skills that, once developed, allow one to make good use of this given 'intelligence'. My example is that I've been playing the violin for a few months now, and I've since picked up a whole lot of music skills that were previously undeveloped, particularly in relation to the ear and hearing the notes. Also, I previously considered myself bad at Visual/Spatial things, but I started picking up drawing skills not too long ago and, well, seems like a lot of the measures of that particular intelligence (just reading about what characterizes it) have boosted significantly. Of course, if I'm not paying attention I still have some difficulty with directions and whatnot, but if I want to I can track where I am and where I've been easily.

So what do you think? Seems to me that these are just abilities we can tap into whenever we are motivated enough to do so. Then here again we're just left with a preference for one or more types of abilities to use.

From my personal experience what I've noticed is that most people have roughly the same amount of intelligence, they just apply it in different areas (there are some people that have much less or more potential but not as many as we usually tend to think). Some people focus all of their intelligence potential into one area, these people are basically idiot savants. Some people spread their intelligence potential into every area and become jack of all trades types etc.

The way I see it it's also related to our studying skills; among those, in which way are you more capable to learn / understand something?