Medical admin/secretary/receptionist?

Ethereal

Regular Poster
Dec 4, 2009
MBTI
INFJ
Enneagram
4w5
I am thinking about training in this area so I can be a medical secretary or receptionist or something similar. I have never worked in an office before so would love to hear from any INFJs who do or have done this kind of job. I don't want to be an office drone but I do love medical stuff (especially psychology/psychiatry) and I am sick of doing jobs where I am on my feet all day long for poor pay. My last job was in a pre-school/nursery and it was too demanding in terms of noise, chaos, poor pay, catching every virus, and being on my feet all day long.

Could anyone tell me what the competition is like for medical receptionist/secretary like? I have read that after doing a course it is very hard to get a job because most places demand 1 year's experience.......but how are you supposed to get experience if no-one will give you a job? I am in my 30s too, will that go against me? Is it worth doing the training? I don't want to waste my time and money. Also, just how stressful is it? I am not a career person, I just want a job that I find interesting, that pays ok and where I will feel comfortable.

Would be grateful for any insight :smile:

I can only give you some (not much) information about the education as medical secretary (in Belgium) if that's interesting enough
... probably not :p

I've heard being a dental assistant isn't too bad. Plus if you're in the USA it's a growing field. From there you can always move onto dental hygeine and those types of positions pay 50-70k a year IIRC.

Hi Avva, any info you've got I would be happy to read, thanks!

jdftx, I looked into dental assistant and heard from people that it is an awful job and stressful, lol. I don't want any "hands on" type jobs, I want to be sitting at a desk doing the clerical stuff, I don't feel comfortable touching people physically.