MBTI Help | INFJ Forum

MBTI Help

Jan 28, 2010
MBTI
WatShaiSays
I am fairly new to understaning the MBTI and i've been reading around on the different threads and noticing many of you know a lot of details regarding it, i was wondering if you could point me in the right direction to learn more.

I can't remember all who i have noticed, but a few of you are Von Hase, Duty, NeverAMI and IndigoSensor. I hope you don't mind me mentioning you in this.

I am mostly looking to learn more about my own type as well as ISTP. But i would like to understand as much as possible about how the different aspects of the types play off eachother.

I hope this made sense, and thank you:)

FPA

I am fairly new to MBTI too, though in typical INFJ fashion have really thrown myself into it. The above gentlemen you mentioned are indeed very knowledgable about type and their traits. There is a section here on the forum dedicated to MBTI-type threads. I suggest you look there. I'll enclose a link to an INFJ site I read when first researching MBTI and INFJ's. It has a lot of helpful info. Hopefully this helps.

http://www.infj.com/

One of my favorite descriptions of each cognitive function is located @ http://books.google.com/books?id=twt29GlROowC&lpg=PA18&ots=7E4lZLhAnM&dq=extraverted%20sensing&pg=PA16

It is just a clip from a book, but all the cognitive functions are covered.

If you weren't aware, there are 8 cognitive functions:

Extraverted Sensing (Se)
Introverted Sensing (Si)
Extraverted Intuition (Ne)
Introvertged Intuition (Ni)
Extraverted Thinking (Te)
Introverted Thinking (Ti)
Extraverted Feeling (Fe)
Introverted Feeling (Fi).

An MBTI type is made by determining which of those 8 are your primary 4.

In an MBTI type, the cognitive functions alternate between introverted and extraverted, in other words, if your primary function is Fi, then your secondary function is going to be extraverted sensing or extraverted intuition.