" I never tell anyone this stuff "

Altruistic Muse

Community Member
Apr 6, 2009
MBTI
INFJ
Enneagram
4?
Hey, I haven't been on the forums for so long! Guess it coincides with starting my new job and working really odd hours. Also I've changed my username (I used to be Nicola Jane).

Anyway, this thread is about hearing those words. Having been only two months at this company I have had to travel between offices and meet a lot of new people. I am a trainee land surveyor, and although it is a struggle a little bit with the overly technical work, I find that there is ample time for getting to know new people. Last night I was talking to a guy there that I would now consider my friend. He has later turned out to be a borderline infj/intj, so we have pretty intense conversations quite happily. Early in the night we were chatting about his family back home and it turned out to be pretty complicated. He stopped a few times and said ok I'm not going to go too deep into this because I don't know you well enough. At which stage I thought well that's strange because I feel like I know a lot about you. However on considering this I realised some of the things I "knew" were perceptions of him and what my intuition told me were true....

Regardless of this, as the night went on, he was talking to me more and more. And by the end of the night he was telling me all about his love live and his insecurities. He said I probably knew more about him than most people in the company now ( and he's been there 6 years). These conversations are I think the reason why I love being an infj at times. I don't even try, yet people are happy to tell me things, and to come to me for advice or resolution. Does anyone else love how people are amazed how easily they can talk to you? Or how they are freaked out by things you know about their character when you shouldn't know them well at all? It really makes me feel happy and different, in a good way :)