Are we worse at conversation today? why? | INFJ Forum

Are we worse at conversation today? why?

Gaze

Donor
Sep 5, 2009
MBTI
INFPishy
Here's an article to start the discussion . . .

It's Time to Start Talking to Strangers

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/karen...to-s_b_7096108.html?ncid=txtlnkusaolp00000592Karen Frankola
Communications and change management consultant, author

All too often, when I meet person in their 20s, I walk away baffled. I ask my new acquaintance questions about their life, work, and/or interests. They chatter away happily, but ask me nothing in return. It's like I'm a tennis coach, lobbing ball after ball over the net, without getting a chance to hit anything myself.
Is this because Millennials are too self-absorbed (70 percent of Americans call this generation selfish)? Don't they realize that asking questions is essential to learning more about the world? Perhaps all those lessons about stranger danger have made it difficult for them to appreciate that every conversation with a person they never met represents a tremendous opportunity.
If you meet a person and fail to ask any questions, the result will likely be:
  • You will not learn anything new.
  • The person you met will likely walk away with a bad impression.
  • You will not make a meaningful connection.
Of course, shyness may be a factor, and plenty of older folks struggle with holding up their end of a conversation. But I think a lot of young people just don't understand that good conversation requires reciprocation.
Here are some tips for anyone who wants to improve their art of conversation. My advice focuses on business encounters, but could be helpful for nearly any situation.
1. Ditch Your Crutches
How many times have you sat down for a meal at a business event only to find everyone at your table talking intensely with the person next to them? You read their badges and realize they're colleagues. And all too often, they make no attempt to include you in their conversation.