technology and introversion/extroversion | INFJ Forum

technology and introversion/extroversion

Gaze

Donor
Sep 5, 2009
MBTI
INFPishy
So, it's been a long standing discussion how much technology has affected our communication. But is it hurting our verbal or face to face communication in the long run? Are we dooming ourselves or hurting our relationships with people and the world by depending too much on technology for daily communication? Or is this too extreme a position to take? How has technology helped our communication? How has it hurt our communication?

I work in IT, but I still think technology is ruining communication. I do not have a facebook or twitter account. Not on principle or anything. I just prefer to talk to people face to face. I don't deny that for some, it has helped bring people together, but on the whole I think technology is hurting communication. If at the very least, by butchering language into a new 'acronymic' one (there goes another butchered word). Though perhaps it is the many years that I've worked in IT that nurtured my disdain for the abuse of acronyms.

NOTE: I realize that though I take an anti-online communication stance, I spend a lot of time chatting here on the forum. Sue me. :p

Last edited:
I just took a developmental psychology class and we talked about this. I guess this is obvious, but the professor said that babies need to participate in and observe face to face communication in order to learn how to read emotions and develop social skills. Lack of social skills and inability to read others' emotions obviously leads to feelings of isolation and disconnectedness, which then can lead to depression. But the internet definitely has positive benefits for adults in terms of sharing and learning about new ideas and being aware of what's going on in the rest of the world.