Setting boundaries with alcoholic family | INFJ Forum

Setting boundaries with alcoholic family

uuu

Donor
Jan 31, 2011
MBTI
I
Over the past several years I have come to the realization that my mom is a functioning alcoholic. I have always parroted her excuses ("I am a health care professional and know what alcoholism is" and "I am a grown adult and can do whatever I want") to myself but I find her very difficult to deal with when she is drunk and making passive-aggressive comments, and setting boundaries around this has become an important part of my mental health.

Anyway, I am going to visit for a few days next month, and my question is how to spend meaningful time together without enabling her. Whenever I visit, she lines up "happy hours" and restaurant dinners in the name of my visit, but it's really just an excuse to drink and have me drive her around. I am in a bind, because if I go with her, I have to deal with her drunk personality, and if I refuse to go, then she will get upset that I am not spending quality time with her during the few days we have together.

So far, I have just equivocated about the invites and said "we'll see how we are feeling" but this is not a good solution. What should I do?

Are there any restaurants that fit what you're looking for that do not serve alcohol? That may be the best way to get around this. You could also suggest activities where there is no opportunity to drink, but that will leave you unprotected during meals. Even if you order in, she can just drink at home.

Alcoholics who are in denial will fight any mention of alcohol abuse. Even if you start by suggesting a limit, she will insist her tolerance is higher than it is. Eventually, you are going to have to let her know that you don't like how she treats you when she has been drinking. That is a hard conversation to have.