Same story, different bias | INFJ Forum

Same story, different bias

Satya

C'est la vie
Retired Staff
May 11, 2008
MBTI
INXP
I'm just posting this because I find it funny. I usually read the same stories from several different sources and to get an idea of how that source may be biased. So here is a story of a recently released poll. See how they emphasize the facts differently.

Original AP article...

http://www.google.com/hostednews/ap/article/ALeqM5jFdXKsKamMQEzqFAvCWykmHCvpwQD9B7NVV02

Two different sources...

http://politicalticker.blogs.cnn.co...rt-civil-unions-but-oppose-same-sex-marriage/

http://www.bpnews.net/BPnews.asp?ID=31432

If you want to post your own examples, then feel free.

Last edited:
This may be a dumb question.. but oh well.
I need studying help.
I'm studying cognitive dissonance now. Would you say that the majority of Americans favoring civil unions while opposing gay marriage is an example of cognitive dissonance? It all just seems like an argument of semantics, with people favoring civil unions for gays, still refusing to acknowledge the equality of their relationship status with straight people? Or do I misunderstand?

According to what I understand, cognitive dissonance is refusing to acknowledge certain information or criteria or whatever so as not to truly change one's stance.

Last edited:
One of the failings of modern science is that for it to reach the masses it has to inevitably pass through a big sensationalising filter/amplifier of media bias.

This may be a dumb question.. but oh well.
I need studying help.
I'm studying cognitive dissonance now. Would you say that the majority of Americans favoring civil unions while opposing gay marriage is an example of cognitive dissonance? It all just seems like an argument of semantics, with people favoring civil unions for gays, still refusing to acknowledge the equality of their relationship status with straight people? Or do I misunderstand?