Non talkative boyfriend | INFJ Forum

Non talkative boyfriend

StormyDale

Jan 11, 2018
MBTI
INFJ
Enneagram
2w1
Hi all! I'm just wondering if anyone else has gone through this and what you ended up doing to resolve it.

I have a boyfriend, we've been together for almost 2.5 years, live together and are soon buying a house. All very much things that say commitment.

But, he doesn't want to get married. Not just to me, but in general. He doesn't believe in the concept. He also doesn't really talk. He's a very private person with his feelings and things that he is close to. Example: He told me that his dad was in the hospital a week after he was admitted (yes, he knew the entire time.)

Our conversations are focused around movies, tv shows, video games, etc. and I do enjoy them, but I have limited knowledge in some of those areas and I have a hard time getting him to talk of anything else.

I guess my main question/though is, how do I get him to open up, is he in this for the long hall? Sometimes he just doesn't seem interested, but that might just be me over thinking. He's literally the only person I can stand to be with 24/7 and I sometimes I feel lonely and I miss him, even when he's in the room with me (completely insane, I know.)

Any thoughts are welcomed!

I’d be interested in why he doesn’t believe in the concept of marriage. I totally understand rejecting the concept of marriage by law, but I am wondering if he has issues making a symbolic commitment of fidelity.

Is there anyone aside from you who he is more comfortable confiding in?

Maybe he's just really quiet and private. From what you've described it doesn't sound like it's personal. I think the key is, does he have other friends or family members that he appears more open with, or is this how he is with everyone?