NaeturVindur

Cuddlemaster
Retired Staff
Nov 17, 2008
MBTI
iNfj
Enneagram
9w1
I have an Asus N90Sv, and I recently installed Ubuntu as a dual boot with Vista. I've had some rough spots so far, but gotten over most but one. Ubuntu doesn't seem to have the appropriate drivers for whatever kind of audio device I have (I think I have Realtek High Def, but I'm not entirely sure this is what you would be looking for, I'm not that tech savvy). It also doesn't seem to recognize this problem (I've run programs that are supposed to make sound, I have the volume up, and its not complaining). Can anyone help?

Lol...I would help, but I'm in worse shape. I've been trying for three days just to get the sucker to install (I ended up downloading an earlier version and it's working so far - if I get far enough into the audio downloads I'll let you know what I find out).

Linux audio is hell. I have an external USB sound card, and after many failed attempts to use ALSA, OSS, and PulseAudio, I've given up and returned to Vista.

My on-board audio was realtek too, and that worked before I got the external sound card, so I'm sure you'll be able to figure it out. (Unfortunately I forget how I got it to work...)

Installing linux on a laptop is harder than the linux crew wants you to think. Have you posted this thread on the Ubuntu forums? They'd probably be able to help you more than us. Shai doesn't use Ubuntu.

If I remember correctly you told me you used another distro of linux :D Did you change? You told me not to even try Ubuntu but something else.

I have a computer for browsing and game playing (Vista)
I have a computer home network for doing most stuff on (Ubuntu)
I have a computer for planning, strategising and keeping sensitive information on (OpenBSD)

Occasionally I change the computer home network.

So are you saying that now you're suggesting I try Ubuntu again? :m179: