Looking for a new linux distro

Zero Angel

Permanent Fixture
Dec 2, 2008
MBTI
INFJ
Enneagram
Possibly 4w5
Well, my disk with Ubuntu is starting to go, so I have set about ordering a new Seagate Barracuda 1.5 TB hard drive.

Anyways, i'm not really liking Ubuntu Jaunty. It's still slow (like Ubuntu always was), firefox crawls and freezes often (on a dual-core with 4GB of RAM, this should not happen), the options to customize the interface are limited, and there are a few small things about GNOME that I otherwise have always disliked about it.

Anyways, i've been using linux since 2004 and my favorite OS had to have been Mandrake 10.1 and Kubuntu Fiesty (the version just prior to their changing over to KDE4). Anyways, i'm pretty good at doing stuff in the terminal and know some shell scripting and how to mess with most of the important config files in nano (not really interested in learning vi right now).

Can anyone recommend a good distro for me to try out? Someone recommended I try a BSD but I dont know if it supports all the linux apps i've grown to like. Any ideas?

Things I like:
Lots of interface customizability (like KDE3)
Package Management
speed
ease-of-maintainance
Good 3D acceleration and wine compatability
Elegant and low-key UI design (not plain, just not overdone)

Things I hate:
GNOME
Gentoo
Crudely put together repos

Last edited:
I've been using Fedora on and off (mostly off), and I like it much better than Ubuntu. Yum is a much better package manager than apt, and the system just feels snappier. The only things I don't like about it are how you have to manually set up sudoers and the legally-blind fonts it's set up with by default.

It also comes with Gnome, but I'm sure you can get it with KDE just like practically any other distro. As much as I've tried, I can't stand KDE. XFCE has been my favorite desktop environment thus far.