Knowledge is not necessarily social | INFJ Forum

Knowledge is not necessarily social

invisible

On Holiday
Sep 30, 2009
Avalon Archipelago
MBTI
none
at the moment im studying an information and knowledge management postgraduate degree. we are reading and discussing research about the nature of knowledge. the following is an excerpt from my learning journal that i am sharing here for anyone who might be interested in this, since it is not possible for me to share it with my class. i attempted to discuss this with my class, but every person who spoke disagreed with me, so it isnt really possible for me to discuss it with them any further.

At class this week there was a guest lecturer talking about practice theory. I liked her a lot but once again she mentioned that "all knowledge is inherently social". She mentioned this as though it were a verified fact. For some reason, it doesn't seem to bother anyone but me that this statement is being made in the complete absence of any empirical support but as though it is absolute truth. Why doesn't it bother anyone that this statement is being made without any evidence to support it? This is so unscientific, I can't understand it.

(Teacher) mentioned to me an alternative theory for what knowledge can be apart from social. But what I am more interested in is that we are making a conclusive statement that has zero empirical support. Obtaining an alternative theory is not necessary to criticising applications of current theory. The absence of an alternative plan for addressing the situation does not invalidate problems with the current way of thinking. I'm not an experienced information scientist and I would hardly know where to begin in formulating an alternative theory, but that doesn't change the fact that the way that theory is being applied in the discipline is not correct.