INTJ/INFJ--ESTJ | INFJ Forum

INTJ/INFJ--ESTJ

emmacate

Aug 9, 2010
MBTI
INFJ
Enneagram
6w5
I'm sorry if this came up before... I looked and couldn't find anything. And, I'm really really new at this so help and patience appreciated.

So here's the story. I have a friend who is an INTJ. Only spent a week with him at camp, but I would consider us to be rather close friends. We talk on Facebook but that's about it- he lives 4 hours away. For some reason, though, I feel like I have a close connection with him. I think it's probably the introverted/ intuitive/judging thing.

Some websites say that the best match for INFJ is like ENFP or something. But to me it seems like INTJ's are much better. It's probably some sort of weird Oedipus complex because my dad, who I am close to by relation and by mutual tolerance of my mother, is also an INTJ.

I really like this guy, but is it a good idea? I'm not sure how much I'll be able to see him, and that depends on what I decide.

But... another wrench in the plan. He has a girlfriend. She is an ESTJ. They have been dating for about 3 years... but I am hoping that it is a high school relationship of convenience, which it seems to be. Next year I move to college and will live much closer.

Am I overthinking this? Ideas, suggestions?....sympathy?...

I think you're planning ahead just a little bit.

I think you should take some time to really get to know him before you start planning a future involving him. He could move away to college as well, he could really love this girl, there are a lot of things that could prevent any sort of romantic relationship to form between the two of you.
Work on becoming better friends with him before you start worrying so much. As ladies we don't chase boys, we replace boys.

Reactions: Blind Bandit
Last edited:
Cutting someone's relationship intentionally is a bad idea, even when their relationship might seem shaky at the moment. So before saying anything, that's a huge No-No for me.