How did you decide what you wanted to do? | Page 2 | INFJ Forum

How did you decide what you wanted to do?

I needed something that would build character, something that would challenge me and bring me to new fields. Something that required commitment, but not to absolution. I also needed something to make money, so that I could save it and use it on higher purposes. My "real job," on this planet. As well as travel and to avoid living in too much financial poverty. Something I could raise a family on, too. Something I didn't necessarily have a passion for, but that I could learn to like that engages me and makes me an asset to some asshole who will hire me.

That's why I'm an electrician working in construction and maintenance on commercial and industrial projects. Right now I'm unemployed and living off my savings, while doing small, occasional jobs for friends for less money. So now I let the real work begin.

The thing about where we are at in the world today is job security isn't as big a thing. It's not like 30 years ago where you got a career and you had a job for life. It's all about life long learning now. You have a job or a career for a period and then often times people transition to something else entirely.

I'm 26 and haven't really got started yet. I'm prepping to go back to university to do what I've always wanted to do -- Library and Information Science. I know this is perfect for me because I began volunteering and working in libraries from the age of 12. My mother also thinks this is perfect for me, so for years I rebelled and did social work/social care type stuff before coming back to the fact that what I wanted to do at 15 is perfect for me.

I've got 5 years of study ahead of me and wont be starting my career fully till im 30 or so.

There's no point worrying abotu these things though. I spent years worrying and it didn't get me anywhere.