How did you decide what you wanted to do? | INFJ Forum

How did you decide what you wanted to do?

barbad0s

Banned
Apr 18, 2011
MBTI
POOP
In light of family expectations, finances, personal interests, and all your surrounding circumstances, how did you decide on the educational and career path that you wanted to pursue? How did you juggle everything you chose to take into account? What was your thought process throughout your decision-making?

I fell into it. I was halfway to a PhD when I landed a teaching fellowship. It was important to me to be good at teaching because I knew what a terrible experience a college class could be if the instructor wasn't good. So, I researched methods, spent hours figuring out how to present, discuss, create activities, real life applications and made the subject matter interesting. I was a finalist in the student choice instructor award that year. I realized that I loved it more than doing research because it was very much like combining acting and knowledge, two things I loved. I was hooked.

Reactions: drummergirlbk
I fell into it. I was halfway to a PhD when I landed a teaching fellowship. It was important to me to be good at teaching because I knew what a terrible experience a college class could be if the instructor wasn't good. So, I researched methods, spent hours figuring out how to present, discuss, create activities, real life applications and made the subject matter interesting. I was a finalist in the student choice instructor award that year. I realized that I loved it more than doing research because it was very much like combining acting and knowledge, two things I loved. I was hooked.

If you don't mind me asking, what is your PhD in and what do you generally teach? And, how did you come to decide to pursue studies in that area? Don't feel pressured to answer if it feels too public.

While I had many talents there seemed to be two gifts that stuck out with me: