Flirting and Gender Roles... clarified and redefined | INFJ Forum

Flirting and Gender Roles... clarified and redefined

soulseeker

Permanent Fixture
Dec 19, 2008
MBTI
INFJ
Hi :) I'm writing a concept paper about flirting and gender roles. We are actually supposed to include an analysis of the political, social, and/or cultural factors that have served to construct/define that concept and as of now, I still don't know where to start.

My basic idea of flirting is sort of like "teasing" a person, just playing and having fun.

So since most of you are from different parts of the world, I just wanted to ask what is flirting in your country or your culture and the gender roles in flirting.

Thank you :)

Well. First of all, I am not an expert:) I can see flirting if I am not emotionally involve. If I am, I don't see it, or I see it in everything:D
Yes, I supoose it is some kind of teasing, jokes and gigling.

It's a means to an end. I get why it's fun for some people, but it's never been that for me.

This gave me something to think about :) I cant say that "teasing" would work on me though. I come from a quite conservative culture and only seen flirting in a form of teasing in school and Im finding it quite immature:) It also depends a lot if you know the person or is the person a stranger... I myself usually just send a little clue out, like letting him catch me looking at him, smile a bit and turn my eyes away. Repeat several times :) I cant say I've done it a lot, not in the last 7-8 years at least, just dont come across anyone worthy of me putting myself out there :) And men tend to skip the flirting bit and go straight to business :)

I think flirting amplifies gender roles? Or perhaps amplifies gender role expectations?
I'm not sure.
I abhor gender roles.

political, social, and/or cultural factors that have served to construct/define that concept

As far as the USA is concerned: