Enneagram type confusion | INFJ Forum

Enneagram type confusion

Miswired7

Regular Poster
May 28, 2018
MBTI
INFJ
I became fascinated with the enneagram when I was in my mid 20's, but set it aside for many years because nothing seemed to fit. I seemed to be a weird mix of several types, yet none of them fit in any meaningful way.

I have a fear of being clueless. Of having no self awareness. Of being the kind of person whom everyone feels sorry for and merely tolerates. I know that this is largely related to being raised by a mentally ill parent, and seeing his repeatedly dysfunctional behavior over and over, with absolutely no insight into why he was so "rejected" by others. I have thus been determined never to hide from things about myself that might be ugly or difficult. I recently started studying the enneagram again, and I fear that figuring out my type has become my latest obsession :openmouth:.
I paid to take the full RHETI, and scores were exactly tied for 3, 4, 6, and 9, with 5 not far behind.
I have previously never related to the type 6 descriptions. My husband is clearly a classic type 6, and I am nothing like him (he is ENTJ), but I read that 6 is a likely possibility if nothing seems to fit. So I started exploring the idea a little further.
And that is why, after years of thinking that I was an odd mix of types 3, 4, 5, and 9, I have realized that I am too paradoxical to be any of those. I now think I may be a 6w5. But still searching to be sure. And sixishly asking others for input. :weary:

Type 3 traits that I identify with: Being a bit of a chameleon. Sometimes thinking that the end justifies the means. Prioritizing success and what other people would think, over my own feelings, which I have tried hard to keep under control.
Type 3 traits that I do NOT identify with: Being energetic. Enjoying the limelight (which I try to avoid). Being willing to take advantage of others to gain personal success.