[INFJ] - Are People Good? | INFJ Forum

[INFJ] Are People Good?

Feb 6, 2018
MBTI
INFJ
This is my first time posting so it may be a little rough but bear with me. I was wondering how other INFJs feel about people in general and whether or not people are naturally good. This question comes about because when I was younger I used to think that everyone was, for the most part, good. I was always the one who believed that people tried their best to be decent people and that this trying was enough to mean they were good people.
Now that I've gotten older I've become far more cynical in my view of human beings and how our brains work. I hold the view that as humans we're stuck in this horrible point in our evolution. On one hand we're still greatly influenced by animal impulses and the need for survival. We used to have the common animal desire to preserve our species but now that we've reached this point of overpopulation, this isn't something we need to worry about. Instead this drive seems to have been transferred to our selfish desire to raise ourselves up above others. We want what we want and we're willing to ignore or hurt others to reach our goals.