Shifting From MBTI to JCF: Why? | Page 3 | INFJ Forum

Shifting From MBTI to JCF: Why?

Thank you for posting this article. While I am rather new to the study of personality theories, I've long been a fan of trying to figure them out. I agree that taking these tests without understanding the theories behind them can be a messy proposition. I've got a very weak/under-appreciated Fe. In college I tested as an INTP. The Dominant-Tertiary loop I was often in made me think I was much more of a practical, pure-logic thinker than I was so I ended up with a "T", and that same Ni/Ti loop over-analyzed all the questions regarding "lifestyle" so I ended up with a P.

Under the guidance of a proper counselor (and after many years of learning more about my true self) I have re-taken the test and am an INFJ. Studying the cognitive functions (CFs) of Ni/Fe/Ti/Se has really cracked open all the "whys" I didn't understand before.

Since I started learning about them, it frustrates me how often the CFs are overlooked. For instance, to me INFJ and INFP are like day and night. It helps that my best friend of many years is an INFP and it's like the OP says - superficially we seem similar but the way we think and use our CFs is very much opposite. I can't understand how anyone would confuse the two if they knew how CFs work. (No offense meant to any who are confused; I didn't know the differences in the beginning either! But learn about the different CFs of each and you'll see what I mean).