Programming and Computer Science resources? | INFJ Forum

Programming and Computer Science resources?

Terracraft

Jun 17, 2019
Finland
MBTI
INFJ
Enneagram
Type 9
What has changed the way you think in programming/thinking terms?
What are the most useful and important concepts to grasp fundamentally?
What are your favorite books, podcasts, videos on the topics?
Do you have any tips for working with, comprehending and learning programming?
What are your must haves?

Hello Terracraft,

I don't know how many programmers you'll find on this forum, but let me take a stab at it!

I started programming a long time ago and I think most of the material I have would be way too niche to make as any broad suggestions, it also depends on what field you'd start out with. One good source I liked when I started was the youtube channel TheNewBoston on C++, but on this my suggestion would be to just take any good multi-part tutorial on any programming language or concept you want to learn better. There are many good youtube tutorials out there if you just search a bit, and it's a good way to quickly get your feet wet.

My general tips is to find an area that you find interesting to pursue. An old math teacher told me this once, and I very much agree with the sentiment - If you want to become good at math, then find what is fun in it. The people who make it are the ones who are driven. The same very much applies to programming, and for me this was making games and graphics programming.

My second tip is that programming skills generally translate well between various fields and languages. Don't feel worried about changing programming languages, what you learn in one language translates extremely well into other languages.

Lastly, programming is a long journey, but it's a very worthwhile one at that.

Must haves - friends, and a burning passion

Hello Terracraft,

What are these "friends" you speak of?

giphy.gif

Reactions: Jexocuha and Elis