logan235711

Community Member
Oct 6, 2008
MBTI
INxJ
Enneagram
1w9 sosxsp
Do you practice Chinese martial arts?

I've been doing it for a couple of years now. I've found it much more rewarding than going to the gym or engaging in strange, artificial motions with giant pieces of machinery. In retrospect, I couldn't imagine going back to my former exercise life. The only thing I've taken with me are my warm-up and cool-down wisdom. I really enjoy the whole body workout that is possible with Chinese martial arts (compared to say Japanese arts like Karate, Jiujitsu, or Judo), and the healthier, repetitious motions that build up efficient muscle (compared to say running or biking, where the long term repeated motions can emphasis impractical muscle segments and develop joint problems). Also, it's nice to learn an activity you can actually use!

However, I am very fortunate to have the teachers I do. I know that it's very common to learn from poor teachers (who either aren't strong themselves, or take advantage of the ignorance of their Western students to correct Eastern concepts & ideas), and that the teachers I currently have spent many years of their life finding the ones they currently have. I've been able to train for free with a small group of people at our local parks. I began with Choy Li Fut and am now in Magui Baguazhang.

How about you?

I've been doing Tai Chi for years, i love it. It's absolutely awesome. Been practicing on and off with people who do kung fu. Pretty similar. It's just the right way to move the body in my opinion.

I've found it much more rewarding than going to the gym or engaging in strange, artificial motions with giant pieces of machinery. In retrospect, I couldn't imagine going back to my former exercise life.

Couldn't agree more.