[INFJ] - almost 25 enfp freaking out over career. change to arts or not? help! | INFJ Forum

[INFJ] almost 25 enfp freaking out over career. change to arts or not? help!

kotachi

Dec 10, 2012
MBTI
enfp
Enneagram
Hello all!! I'm losing sleep over this.. 24 year old almost 25. enfp.

Art has always been a huge passion of mine, but I was scared out of it in high school. My current situation is that I am teaching English abroad part time (around 20 hours). I'm currently trying to study graphic design and illustration in my spare time, along with Spanish (I live in Spain), and right now trying to find some small social media job or volunteer gig so that I might have a chance of employment upon my contract here ending in 8 moths. I have a degree from a prominent university in an unrelated field. I love art, especially illustration, and I also enjoy graphic design. But I can't decide between marketing and graphic design. ... or illustration, but..

I was working in marketing and doing some freelance graphic design/illustration before moving to Europe to teach English. This is my second year teaching. The plan was to enjoy living in another country for a short time and then go back to school for concept art at the concept design academy. However, after a lot of research on the subject, I discovered that concept art was a really difficult a field to break into. I love the idea of it, having such huge sacrifices for an uncertain outcome really scared me.

So, graphic design and illustration seemed like a more practical choice. I did a ton of research on schools and certificate programs, etc, and in Europe and the United States.