About Socionics | INFJ Forum

About Socionics

xizzax

Community Member
Aug 3, 2009
MBTI
INFJ
has anyone ever heard of it?

they seem to be using the same four letter typing... but i heard that the method is different... thus if you were typed by socionics then it wouldn't be the same if you were reading Myers-Briggs descriptions.

www.socionics.com

Last edited:
Yeah, it seems J & P are calculated differently. E.g. MBTI INFJ is INFp in socionics. But i'm not an expert, so someone who knows both systems fairly well could better explain.

Correct - Socionics measures last letter for N-types based upon strength of preference for S/N versus T/F. For example : I prefer N more strongly than F. Therefore, in the Socionics system, I am an INFp. If you prefer F more strongly than N, you would be an INFj.

There's some debate as to the validity of the system, but I would agree that there's something different about those who strongly prefer N over F, and why some INFPs seem like INFJs and vice-versa. The rest of the interactional theory leaves me a bit cold, though.

As far as I managed to understand, the group of functions and types sounds very similarly at first, but the functions are just different. They are not the same cognitive functions. They have other definitions, even though for the most part sounding as the same things. So there isn't really a direct match between the two systems. Which is very confusing, because so many results and observations also seem to fit between the two systems - for example, if we switch P/J for introverts. But we shouldn't. The INFp (soc) isn't really the INFJ (mbti). It has similar position among their types, but their types as a group are not the same types, even if we switch P/J.
:m200:
(i say monkey business)

interesting...

yea, i don't really like the idea of the switched j/p functions...
that would change the descriptions completely.