A Career With Animals | INFJ Forum

A Career With Animals

cjswanson1355

Oct 9, 2011
MBTI
INFJ
Enneagram
Hello,

I'm currently working as a programmer maintaining code. I recently graduated from college, and was able to find employment quickly. I've been working there for about 4 months now, and it simply isn't the right path for me.

It's not that I'm bad at solving problems. I'm simply too emotional to handle this type of work. By the end of the day I am incredibly anxious and I make far too many mistakes. I feel like I am dragging down the team because they need to point out silly errors I made which I must correct. It's very emotionally draining to feel like a clutz, mentally. My self esteem is very low as a programmer, so I want to go into a career where I can gain confidence.

So I'm looking to change careers.

The first thing I've thought about is going into IT. A person can move around more from what I understand, and I'm guessing they won't be as drained by the end of the day.

However, what I would really like to do is help animals. I absolutely love animals. I didn't pursue this when I was in college since I was concerned about money, but when your job crushes you emotionally, I think I should consider a switch. Is it possible for a graduate with a Computer Science degree to get a job in this field? I don't even know where to begin. Can anyone offer some advice?

From what I understand you could go to grad school for almost anything no matter what your under grad degree is in. I think you should go for it. Why stay where youre unhappy and unfulfilled?