the

Si master race.
Banned
Feb 17, 2009
MBTI
ISTJ
Enneagram
9w1
Ever hear of the Gig Economy? It's where you do little spurts of work here and there outside of your main job so that you can pay the bills. Generally speaking Uber (the beginning of a great name, btw) and Lyft are the iconic examples of this. A job to help fill in the space while you are between jobs.

https://www.newyorker.com/culture/jia-tolentino/the-gig-economy-celebrates-working-yourself-to-death

Some of you know that I am a career advisor by trade. You may or may not know that the unemployment office in your U.S. state is funded by Wagner-Peyser and WIOA. Now I don't remember if it is just my states guidance, or if it is written into the WIOA law, but I think the idea that encouraging people to work long term gigs is pretty shitty. To put it another way, I think that putting people into a mindset where they need to work 12 - 16 hour days just to barely make it is shameful. We even have a workshop where you can learn about getting involved in The Gig Economy BLECH!

The reason I don't like it is because I think there are much better things to do with your time than to spend it doing odd jobs for people. At the very least I think you should get the whole $20 for mowing the neighbors lawn, not $7.25. What do you guys think?

I think it should be discussed as an option for making money but certianly not pushed as an extended or sustainable main source of income. Discussed because some people may not even know about the possiblities.