My Biology Thread | INFJ Forum

My Biology Thread

Torsion

Regular Poster
Mar 9, 2013
MBTI
INFJ
What I post here is mostly thoughts, theory, and information I've come across myself, aimed at making you consider things yourself.
I'm going to use it to post possibly useful info.
I am not a doctor. Use at your own risk.

Melatonin and modern life.

Melatonin is a hormone produced in the pineal gland. It has a number of purposes in the body and brain, and I'd recommend looking these up. What I'm going to go into in this post is that most awesome of introvert escapisms, sleep.

The hormone Melatonin, not to be confused with the completely unrelated skin pigment melanin, is always produced. It's production is greatly reduced however in the event of retinal exposure to light, specifically light in the "blue" bandwidth (known and perceived by us as white light.) This light induced off switch is what earned Melatonin the name of Dark Hormone. This is what regulates our day-night cycle. The light levels go down, melanin increases, and we get sleepy. Or that's what's meant to happen.

Unfortunately modern lifestyles expose us to light right up till the moment we decide to sleep. Lightbulbs, LCD phone screens, backlit kindle devices, tvs, monitors, and more all bombard us with light past normal hours, and it doesn't take much to trigger a melanin production halt. Looking at your phone at 4am? Bad move.

Surely this isn't a problem though. We've been dealing with artificial light since fire was invented, right? Wrong. Our ancestors were mostly unaffected by fire-produced light as it doesn't emit the main melatonin reducing light frequency.. In fact the modern world is getting worse. LED lights - low energy lights which emit nice strong clean blue(white) light are rising in popularity. CLF lights are bad enough, but where CLFs are said to procude 3x the blue light of an old incandescent bulb, LEDs produce 5x.