Lost at this juncture of life. Advice? | INFJ Forum

Lost at this juncture of life. Advice?

juju817

Jun 26, 2011
MBTI
INFJ
Enneagram
I don't have any friends or family who are adequately equipped to give me any wise or rational advice. From what I've encounter I see their arbitrary biases seep into any suggestion. A mixture of what i want to hear and what's best for them. I also don't want to be burdensome and make them be my chalk board to sort out thoughts and ideas. So I thought i would ask my fellow INFJ's to help a bewildered man out.

For the past 2 years I've been trying to find myself and ruminating on a career path. After high school i decided if i were to go college, it would be with purpose and because it was required for my career choice.

During this time. I had a music and writing endeavor which dwindled. I published some poems (small online magazines) and made some song's but i know in my heart of hearts, its not what i want to do for a living.

Those recently withered and now i am completely lost. I know i would progress in academia. I have the diligence for research in subjects of interest. Psychology and neuroscience are definite possibilities. But i cringe at the notion of conducting studies and gathering data(basically what makes science; science). I prefer to be updated and perceive the results.
This sounds pretentious but i do fancy the notion of being a scholar though.

I would rather enjoy living creatively. I am working on a short film and anime which have potential. Or maybe even game development. I don't want to jump into debt without being completely definitive of my endeavors. What do you suggest? Go to school? Wait it out longer? Wallow in self pity because i need an illusion to solidify my adequacy? Help!