[PAX] How do you feel about...?

Peace

Community Member
Sep 18, 2011
MBTI
INFJ
Enneagram
4w5
I'm curious as to how people feel about political issues. I'm not so interested in their opinions but rather on their feelings.

I find that often people present their opinions as facts, and as a result very little discussion can take place. Then it is simply a disagreement of who is right and who is wrong or a debate on who has the better evidence to support their position. While occasionally entertaining and enlightening, I find that opinion based discussions says more about a person's perceptions than it does about the person.

If you want to know about the person, then you have to go deeper. Feelings reflect our values and how we prioritize our values. You can't argue how a person feels is right or wrong because nobody chooses how they feel; that is generally based on their own personal experiences. Feelings are also not very susceptible to persuasion. As a marketing instructor I had once stated, "You can only persuade people to feel more strongly about what they already feel, you can't persuade them to feel differently than what they already feel." Only through new experiences can a person come to feel differently.

If you explore feelings, then you can explore the underlying values and experiences that shape them.

So what I want to do is provide a list of political scenarios and I want people to share how they feel about each scenario; sharing their actual emotions rather than opinions. If you want to go deeper you can share experiences that you feel gave shape to those feelings. If you have to give your opinion then please do so in a different colored font.

1. A teenage woman chooses to have an abortion.
2. A boy chains his dog to a fence and invites other boys to throw rocks at it.
3. A mother campaigns to have a popular book removed from the local library because she finds its content offensive.