Got an interview, but do I want the job? | INFJ Forum

Got an interview, but do I want the job?

justeccentricnotinsane

Community Member
Oct 7, 2008
MBTI
INFJ
Hi
I recently wrote on here so I'm sorry for another question. I got great advice on the last thread but I feel like people could tell that I'm not totally certain on what I want exactly and this is totally true. But I'm getting really anxious now because I've been offered an interview for a job and, while I'll definitely go to the interview and find out more, I don't know whether or not it would be a good move for me to take it. I'm going to do this in bullet points in the hope it will be clearer:

Life-long goals
Ok, these are the goals and interests that I've had since I can remember:
  • To write
  • To inform (I wanted to be a newsreader when I was a kid and I'm now a journalist)
  • To stick up for what's right and try and help fight injustice
  • To entertain
  • To be in the media in some way (this has literally been since I can remember)
  • Since I was about 18 - to write comedy scripts
What I've done
  • Been writing scripts since I was 16, until recently always comedy
  • I have contacts at national broadcasters because my script work has started to be noticed
  • I am a low-level journalist
  • I have worked with a charity in a PR/press office role.
Ok, so the role I've got an interview for is essentially as a careers adviser (I see the irony, ok? :) ). I went for it because my job at the moment is extremely stressful, depressing, low-paid and so exhausting I can't do anything else outside of work. When going for the role, I thought I wanted to do it because I want to feel like I'm helping someone, and this is still true, but is it a good career move? I mean, as you can tell, I've been writing in everything I do and my current idea is that I might want to go into communications in the third sector.