Feeling defective; a rant | INFJ Forum

Feeling defective; a rant

poetrygirl

Community Member
Feb 9, 2009
MBTI
INFJ
All my life I have felt like I was somehow defective in some way that I didn't know how. I go from thinking I have an understanding of the world to believing I am most likely one of it's stupidest residents. I take all non constructive criticism personally especially if it's aimed at my personal thought process rather than the quality of my work. I can't seem to handle being picked on or belittled in any way on the inside ,because it confirms my suspicions and worst fears. :m041:

I've been told countless times that I'm a good writer but I'm deafly afraid to show most people my work outside of my confront zone. I fear looking like a fool and being too stupid to not understand what about it makes it deficient. When people do complement what I do; I believe that they are being too nice or judging me based on low standards of their expectations of me. My self esteem issues are also starting to effect my writing. I feel obligated to shallow the emotional complexities of my characters or writing style in order to make them more acceptable to an audience ,because I feel that what I write is a peak into my own soul and showing a part of myself would only put it up to be criticized.

I hate feeling this way I wish I could be one of those people who could just stand up with an attitude of "Yeah, I'm _____ and I don't give a *** what you think about it." As much as it may seem like that on the outside to some people I can't separate myself from this fear looming over my head. How can one restore their confidence without being able to fully trust their own reasoning?:m025:

Nothing makes sense anymore. :m068:

Last edited: