A hypothetical bad situation for an INFJ... | INFJ Forum

A hypothetical bad situation for an INFJ...

Asuran Fish

Jan 14, 2019
MBTI
INFJ
I'm not really an expert in how the different types handle different situations based on their cognitive functions, but I would like to hear from some of my fellow INFJs how you would respond, or expect another INFJ to respond to this situation.

You have a job you're generally content with. You work with several good friends, and draw a lot of pleasure out of the time you spend with them, and your ability to listen to and help them. Because of your introverted nature, you have some difficulty meeting new people when you actually have to... go and meet new people.

Among your co-workers are two or three of the best friends you've ever had.

One day your boss tells you you're being transferred, and doesn't even give you enough notice to prepare for it, or to say goodbye to your friends.

Upon arriving at your new location, you find the environment is extremely disorganized. The staff hasn't been trained at all, and it's basically the wild west. Every time you try to envision your next move, or to think about the friends you've left behind - you're thoughts are interrupted, and you're dragged back into the hectic environment - because you're the only one capable of solving even the simplest problem.

You have options: such as asking for your old job back - but maybe you'll be denied, and then be on the bad side of your bosses. You could quit, but you need a job badly. You can look for other jobs, but you're in such turmoil, that you constantly feel drained and unprepared to take on any more.

I was stuck in this situation for three months, and it was undoubtedly the worst three months of my life. I eventually resolved it, but I feel like I hit an emotional and mental rock bottom during this time.

I'm curious as to what would be expected from our typology in such situations, compared to what I experienced.