University course dilemma | INFJ Forum

University course dilemma

May 29, 2012
MBTI
INFJ
Enneagram
Hi there. I am currently in my final year of Polytechnic (equivalent to college) doing Communications and Media Management, which basically means Mass Communications plus a bit of marketing. I am debating with myself whether I should continue doing mass communications or begin an altogether new experience by taking up something more suited to my personality.
The thing is, as an INFJ I do not feel very comfortable speaking to large crowds or mingling with people I am not familiar with. Usually when I do, it is only because I feel at ease and am interested in the topic people are discussing. Otherwise I would rather stay at home and read a book. I really appreciate one-to-one conversation and am a lot comfortable if someone approaches me first, especially if they want to give me constructive criticism.
Currently, I am interning at one of the Big 4 Audit firms in the Marketing department for my second last school semester. However, I am leaning more towards the arts instead. In the last semester I will most likely be majoring in Broadcast before I finally graduade in Feb 2013.
Also, with the the current cumulative GPA I have - 3.17 - I highly doubt I can enter a local university unless it's a private one. And even if I do enter a private U, I don't see any course which interests me.
Here are some of the routes I am thinking of going after:
- Teaching
- Linguistics
- Media-related (production work/editing)
My parents think I have a flair for teaching and to be honest I like the thrill of passing on what I know to others and get a sense of gratification whenever they learn something from me. On top of that I find myself being immersed in linguistics. On the other hand, production work is something which I find rewarding to do, especially doing behind-the-scenes. Any advice?

What do you do for fun? Any hobbies, enjoyable activities, etc.