Too many books! | INFJ Forum

Too many books!

invisible

On Holiday
Sep 30, 2009
Avalon Archipelago
MBTI
none
What do you do with all your books? Do you have too many? If not, did you ever have too many? What is the point of keeping books that you have read, and of keeping a collection of books that you haven't read?

I'm a bookseller and I have a degree in literature, so I have a lot of books. Too many books!

There are a handful of books that were life changing for me and that I absolutely can't do without having them on my shelf. And granted, more than I would like with sentimental value - gifts from loved ones, books from childhood. But why am I keeping all the others? I'm not an academic! I don't want to end up getting old in a house that is stuffed with rotting paper! All these books are making me sick!

I love books! I only buy the ones that I am definitely going to read, but in the last couple of years there has been a serious backlog, as in that I have always about 40 books (more or less) in my possession that I have yet to read. And I still want more!

It doesn't mean that I am not planning on doing it anytime soon. I already lamented the fact that I haven't been reading much since I wrote and finished my BA thesis.

But I love my books, and I am proud of being able to display them, as trophies from my past and reminders for the future. Some I have to keep in boxes for lack of space in my room (mostly books from school and uni), but I'll put them all on a seperate shelf once I have my own place, as a permanent residence.

And it has happened that I read some books more than once (in some cases more than five times), partly because they faded in my memory and I want to refresh it, partly because I just love the stories. For some, it is to look up quotes that randomly manage to surface in my head, and I check them for source and accuracy.