The Lady of Shalott | INFJ Forum

The Lady of Shalott

KLessard

One
May 7, 2019
MBTI
INFJ
Hi!
I'm new to this forum although I've participated on Typology Central a few years back and it was a great help to me while I was struggling with a mild case of Borderline Personality Disorder (I am now recovered).

I am back on these forums as something very strange is happening to me as an INFJ and I felt it was worth documenting here.

I am a visual artist and recently published my first novel.
In the last couple of years, Tennyson's Lady of Shalott began resonating with me in a very painful way, especially the line : " 'I'm half-sick of shadows,' said the Lady of Shalott". I realized I was living my life through my art, but feeling like an outsider looking in, only allowed to experience things and people by observing them through the mirror's reflection, seeing my friends getting married, starting families and knowing intimate love the way I would never know. My experience with love had only been unrequited one way or the other, and I did not insist when this would happen, agreeing to keep finding my satisfaction in inspiration, spirituality and creativity, which often keeps you away from earthly life the way the majority S types experience.