find wisdom, build hope.
Dec 27, 2009
MBTI
INFJ
Enneagram
6w5
So, that sentence.
"Sorry, not interested."
Just said that and had someone exploded at me. Don't mind it (appreciated it, in fact), understand why (blunt. Also, rejection HURTS), and realized it's not the most polite reaction.
What do you think, though? Is it good? bad? Ever had problems from that simple sentence?
Honestly, this is my first time having someone angry at me because of me saying that-- am I blessed, or naive, or just unknowingly rude?

I am remembering a phrase of some sort--
a hundred thousand ways to say no, except 'no'
something I vaguely remembered was used to describe Japanese and their stereotypical tendencies....to refuse without refusing.
And that was my foundation-- As much as possible, I'd rather try to be honest -and- tact rather than tactfully dishonest.

I know that path, I walk on it frequently. Why I should increase my frequency, I have no idea. I'm trying to reduce it, even!

(Context : music video, private chat (so most likely no 'ignore' option), I tried to be as polite as I can be "Ah, sorry; I don't think it works for me, thanks for sharing though ")

Last edited:
You can put someone down gently and politely in a simple sentence without coming across as a complete ass, yes. Did you? No.

You can be tactful without being insensitive.

'I am so sorry, I just don't return your feelings.' <--- pointing out you have no control over how you feel in much the way they have no control over how they feel toward you. Being apologetic says that you respect their feelings and the courage/confidence it took to make a move. Even if someone drops out of the sky and asks you out, even if it doesn't seem like they might care, you might as well let the medicine go down with a bit of common curtesy.