Roles you play and how they shape you | INFJ Forum

Roles you play and how they shape you

Gaze

Donor
Sep 5, 2009
MBTI
INFPishy
So, we each occupy different roles in our lives. All these roles shape us in different ways. Some roles seem more dominant or significant than others depending on the stage of life we are in. What are the dominant roles in your life and how do you think they shape you as a person?

Examples of roles:
  • Family
  • School/Academic
  • Professional/Work
  • Friendship
  • Romantic/Partner
  • Consumer/Citizen
  • Other

Right now, my dominant roles are student and teacher; the contrast of required skills and expectations has produced internal tension and diminished motivation on both fronts. On one hand, I am a psychology student. I must behave within a prescribed and uniform system of regulations with very little freedom and shallow learning level, and am treated as though I know nothing and am not ready for a "real" job in the field. I've always been a highly achieving student, but formal education has always felt stifling and slightly dehumanizing because of these things. My school-fatigue is not relieved when most of my professors dismiss my job, which I love, as mere "application of basic research". University seems cold at times. On the bright side, though, I can take in, synthesize, and vibrantly explain a lot of models of behavior and have learned how to find information efficiently.