Rosie1234

One
Oct 9, 2017
MBTI
INFJ
Enneagram
Rosie123
hi,
I’m new here and this is my first post, hope I get it right.
I’m re entering the work force after being home for 15 years with my children.
Currently I have started work at a primary school doing education support, I love this, I’m great with the kids and I find the job rewarding.
However I struggle with the social side of work, I’m not good at all at expressing myself, I struggle/hate chit chat so finding work friends is hard, I also tend to be over looked for call in days, they pick other assistants over me and on my observation the other workers are great at banter and social conversations and no so good with children but they get by on being socially confident, I however am rubbish at this but my work is 100%.
I can read people so well and I hate it, picking up on other people feelings is so hard.
I was wondering if anyone else has these problems and how do you deal with them? I honestly would rather to stay at home and write my books.
Also do any of you get really tired after being around lots of people? this exhausts me.
Sorry for rambling, I’m in desperate need of someone who understands me.

get really tired after being around lots of people
Hi @Rosie1234, and welcome. Yes, I can relate to being exhausted after spending 8 hours, (or more), with others. I believe much of the tiredness comes from how we gather data in the back of our minds while focusing on our tasks at the same time...we are using our minds twice as hard, therefore, we get twice as tired as another type might.

I can relate. I've spent quite a long time working in health care and one of the challenges I have is with the care teams I work with. I find I'm socially awkward, and this is worse when I'm new and don't know anyone.